sophie littlefield sophie littlefield sophie littlefield
about sophie books: adults books: ya news events contact blog

Books: Adults

The Guilty One


The Guilty One
Now Available!

"Littlefield's writing shines."
   —The Boston Globe

A man stands on the Golden Gate Bridge, poised to jump...if a woman on the other end of the phone tells him to.

Maris's safe suburban world was shattered the day her daughter was found murdered, presumably at the hands of the young woman's boyfriend. Her marriage crumbling, her routine shattered, Maris walks away from her pampered life as a Bay Area mom the day she receives a call from Ron, father of her daughter's killer. Wracked with guilt over his son's actions (and his own possible contribution to them), he asks Maris a single question: should he jump?

With a man's life in her hands, Maris must decide, perhaps for the first time, what she truly wants. Retribution? Forgiveness? Or something more? Having lost everything, she's finally free to recreate herself without the confining labels of "wife," "mother," or "mourner." But will this shocking offer free her, or destroy her?

Read an excerpt

BUY THE BOOK
Indiebound Amazon Barnes & Noble Books-A-Million iTunes Kobo


Praise

"Littlefield has written several domestic thrillers, and this one is another entertaining read in that genre."
   —Library Journal

"Littlefield excels at examining the minutiae that add up to major decisions...[an] intricate touching story of how these characters pick up the pieces."
   —RT Book Reviews

"Littlefield has spun a deft web of a narrative... Fans of Carla Buckley and Lisa Gardner will enjoy Littlefield's mix of family drama, redemption, and recovery."
   —Booklist

"The characters are among the most three dimensional ones that I have ever had the pleasure of keeping company with in a book...Such talent should not be missed."
   —Fresh Fiction (read the full review)

"A riveting read by a master storyteller."
   —The Midwest Book Review

"All through this novel, there is never a place where the reader won't think these people are absolutely real. They will also feel a profound sense of loss when the tale is over. An emotional journey that is definitely worth the time."
   —Suspense Magazine

"Sophie Littlefield has hit a new level of excellence with The Guilty One. Accessible, compelling new fiction."
   —Seattle Book Mama (read the full review)

"Poignant, thought-provoking and emotionally satisfying."
   —Book Reviews & More

"I was so impressed with Sophie Littlefield's tender care in writing this story...the ending was awesome!"
   —Chick Lit Plus

"A great book...Easy to read but with the vibe of a thriller."
   —Creating Serenity

"The themes of loss and renewal penetrate each passing chapter."
   —Book Reporter


Gallery Books, Paperback, August 2015, ISBN: 9781476757834